

## 2014 STUDENT WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS ANNOUNCED

First place winner Bradford Masters (CENTER) is congratulated by Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye (LEFT), Associate Justice Kathryn Mickle Werdegar (CENTER RIGHT), Society President Jennifer King (RIGHT), and board member Selma Moidel Smith (CENTER LEFT) — at the California Supreme Court, November 12, 2014.

PHOTO: WILLIAM A. PORTER

(published in the san francisco and los angeles editions of the *daily journal* on november 24, 2014)

HE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT HISTORICAL SOCIETY is pleased to announce the winners of its 2014 CSCHS Selma Moidel Smith Law Student Writing Competition in California Legal History.

First place was won by Bradford Masters of UC Davis School of Law for "The (F)law of Karma: In Light of *Sedlock v. Baird*, Would Meditation Classes in Public Schools Survive a First Amendment Establishment Clause Challenge?" He receives a prize of \$2,500 and publication in the 2014 volume of *California Legal History*, the Society's annual scholarly journal.

Second place was awarded to Lauren Williams of the University of San Diego School of Law for "California's

## **COMPETITION RENAMED**

Dan Grunfeld, Society President (2011–2014), announced at Selma Moidel Smith's birthday celebration in April 2014 that the Society has renamed



its writing competition in her honor — recognizing her work as a Society board member, including initiating and conducting the annual writing competition and serving as editor-in-chief of the annual journal, *California Legal History*. Anti-Revenge Porn Legislation: Good Intentions, Unconstitutional Result." She receives a prize of \$500.

The third place winner is Shannon Flynn Smith of Michigan State University College of Law for "Virtual Cloning: Transformation or Imitation? Reforming the *Saderup* Court's Transformative Use Test for Rights of Publicity." She receives a prize of \$250.

The high quality of the winning entries — and their common theme of addressing emerging legal issues — has resulted in the editorial decision to publish all three in the 2014 journal.

The three distinguished judges, all of whom are professors of law or history, were: Mark Bartholomew, SUNY

Buffalo Law School; Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania; and JoAnne Sweeny, University of Louisville School of Law.



Second-place winner Lauren Williams.



Third-place winner Shannon Flynn Smith.