2011 Student Writing Competition Winners Announced



First-place winner Mikelis Beitiks (center) is congratulated by Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye (second from right), Associate Justice Kathryn Mickle Werdegar (right), Society President Dan Grunfeld (left), and Board Member Selma Moidel Smith, who proposed and organized the competition – at the California Supreme Court, San Francisco, October 24, 2011.

Photo by William A. Porter

The California Supreme Court Historical Society is pleased to announce the winners of its 2011 Student Writing Competition.

First place was won by Mike Beitiks of UC Hastings College of the Law, for "Devilishly Uncomfortable": *In the Matter of Sic* – The California Supreme Court Strikes a Balance Between Race, Drugs and Government in 1880s California." He receives a prize of \$2,500 and publication of his paper in the 2011 volume of the Society's annual journal, *California Legal History*. His paper traces the origins and fate of a Stockton ordinance designed to force the departure of local Chinese residents.

Second place was awarded to Jaime Massar of Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, for "The Taco Truck Rush: Regulating the Commons in Boom Times." Her paper proposes parallels between the use of public space by miners of the Gold Rush era and taco truck operators of present-day Los Angeles. (Photo not available.)

The third place winner is Pantea Rahbar of University of West Los Angeles School of Law, for "Federal Government Exceeds its Power to Regulate California's State-Authorized Medical Marijuana under the Guise of the Commerce Clause." Her paper discusses California's marijuana laws in the context of federal regulation.

The three distinguished judges, all of whom are American legal historians, were: Ariela Gross, Professor of Law and History, USC School of Law; Laura Kalman, Professor of History, UC Santa Barbara; and Chris Waldrep, Professor of History, San Francisco State University.

Pantea Rahbar

The competition was open to law students and to graduate students in history, political science, government, and related fields. The winning papers are available on the Society's website, www.cschs.org (at "History of the California Courts").