## 2007 Student Writing Competition Winners Announced



First-place winner Mirit Eyal-Cohen (center) is congratulated by Chief Justice Ronald George (second from left), Associate Justice Kathryn Mickle Werdegar (left), Society President Ray McDevitt, and Board Member Selma Moidel Smith, who proposed and organized the competition – at the Society Reception, State Bar Annual Meeting, Anaheim, Sept. 29, 2007. Photo by Howard Watkins

The California Supreme Court Historical Society is pleased to announce the winners of its first student writing competition. The three judges were unanimous in all of their choices.

First place was won by Mirit Eyal-Cohen of the UCLA School of Law, for "Preventive Tax Policy: Chief Justice Roger J. Traynor's Tax Philosophy." She receives a prize of \$2,500, and publication in the 2008 edition of the Society's journal, California Legal History. She is an SJD Candidate (Doctor of Juridical Sciences, a second J.D. for prospective scholars).

Second place was awarded to Amber A. Trumbull, a J.D. student at New York University School of Law, for "Mosk and Capital Punishment in California: A Liberal Approach to the Death Penalty."



Patrick K. Brown

The third place winner is Patrick K. Brown, an M.A. student in History at California State University, Fullerton, for "The Rise and Fall of Rose Bird: A Career Killed by The Death Penalty."

The three distinguished judges, all of whom are American legal historians and lawyers, were: Stuart Banner, Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law, Laura Kalman, Professor of History, UC Santa Barbara; and Reuel Schiller, Professor of Law, UC Hastings Amber Trumbull College of the Law.



The purpose of the competition is to advance the mission of the Society by promoting research and writing on the California Supreme Court and the state's legal history. The competition was open to law students and to graduate students in

history, political science, government, and related fields.

Society President Ray McDevitt expresses the Society's appreciation to the judges for their expertise and dedication in evaluating the submissions, and to Board Member Selma Moidel Smith for proposing and organizing the competition. The winning papers are available on the Society's website, www.cschs.org (at "History of the California Courts").