California Supreme Court Justices

Chronological Listing  |  Alphabetical Listing

Alphabetical Listing

Justice | Years Served

Alexander Anderson:    April 1852–January 1853

Frank M. Angellotti:    January 1903–November 1921 *

Armand Arabian:    March 1990–February 1996

John A. Arguelles:    March 1987–March 1989


Joseph G. Baldwin:    October 1858–January 1862

Marvin R. Baxter:    January 1991–January 2015

William H. Beatty:    January 1889–August 1914 *

Issac S. Belcher:    March 1872–January 1874

Nathaniel Bennett:    December 1849–October 1851

Rose Elizabeth Bird:    March 1977–January 1987 *

Allen E. Broussard:    July 1981–August 1991

Janice R. Brown:    May 1996–June 2005

Charles H. Bryan:    November 1854–November 1855

Louis H. Burke:    November 1964–November 1974

Peter H. Burnett:    January 1857–October 1858


Tani Cantil-Sakauye:    January 2011–Present *

Jesse W. Carter:    September 1939–March 1959

Ming W. Chin:    March 1996–August 2020

William P. Clark, Jr.:    March 1973–March 1981

Nathaniel P. Conrey:    October 1935–November 1936

W. W. Cope:    September 1859–January 1864 *

Carol A. Corrigan:    January 2006–Present

E. B. Crocker:    May 1863–January 1864

Joseph B. Crockett:    December 1867–January 1880

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar:    January 2015–Present

John Currey:    January 1864–January 1868 *

Jesse W. Curtis:    January 1926–January 1945


John J. DeHaven:    January 1891–January 1895

Maurice T. Dooling, Jr.:    June 1960–June 1962


David N. Eagleson:    March 1987–January 1991

Douglas L. Edmonds:    November 1936–December 1955

Kelli M. Evans:     January 2023–Present


Stephen J. Field:    October 1857–May 1863 *

Frank G. Finlayson:    October 1926–December 1926

William F. Fitzgerald:  January 1893–January 1895

Charles N. Fox:    June 1889–January 1891


Charles H. Garoutte:    January 1891–January 1903

Ronald M. George:    September 1991–2011 *

Phil S. Gibson:    September 1939–August 1964 *

Joshua P. Groban:     January 2019–Present

Joseph R. Grodin:    December 1982–January 1987

Patricia Guerrero:     March 2022–Present*

Ralph C. Harrison:    January 1891–January 1903

S. Clinton Hastings:    January 1850–January 1852 *

Frederick W. Henshaw:    January 1895–January 1918

Solomon Heydenfeldt:    January 1852–January 1857

Frederick W. Houser:    September 1937–October 1942


Martin J. Jenkins:     December 2020 – Present


Marcus M. Kaufman:    March 1987–January 1990

Otto M. Kaus:    July 1981–October 1985

Joyce L. Kennard:    April 1989–April 2014

Frank H. Kerrigan:    January 1923–February 1924

Leondra R. Kruger:    January 2015–Present


William H. Langdon:    January 1927–August 1939

William P. Lawlor:    January 1915–July 1926

Thomas J. Lennon:    January 1919–August 1926

Goodwin Liu:    August 2011–Present

William G. Lorigan:    January 1903–January 1919

Malcolm M. Lucas:    April 1984–April 1996 *

Henry A. Lyons:    December 1849–March 1852 *


Wiley W. Manuel:    March 1977–January 1981

Marshall F. McComb:    January 1956–May 1977

Thomas B. McFarland:    January 1887–September 1908

Samuel Bell McKee:    January 1880–December 1887

E. W. McKinstry:    January 1874–October 1888

Henry A. Melvin:    September 1908–April 1920

Carlos R. Moreno:    October 2001–February 2011

Robert F. Morrison:    November 1879-March 1887 *

Stanley Mosk:    September 1964–June 2001

Hugh C. Murray:    October 1851–September 1857 *

Louis W. Myers:    January 1923–January 1926 *

Milton H. Myrick:    January 1880–January 1887


Frank C. Newman:    July 1977–December 1982

Addison C. Niles:    January 1872–January 1880

Edward Norton:    November 1861–January 1864


Warren Olney, Jr.:    March 1919–July 1921


Edward A. Panelli:    December 1985–January 1994

A. Van R. Paterson:    January 1887–April 1894

Paul Peek:    December 1962–December 1966

Raymond E. Peters:    March 1959–January 1973

John W. Preston:    December 1926–October 1935


Cruz Reynoso:    February 1982–January 1987

Augustus L. Rhodes:    January 1864–January 1872 *

John E. Richards:    February 1924–June 1932

Frank K. Richardson:    December 1974–December 1983

Erskine M. Ross:    January 1880–October 1886


Silas W. Sanderson:    January 1864–January 1870 *

Lorenzo Sawyer:    January 1864–January 1870 *

B. Rey Schauer:    December 1942–September 1964

Niles Searls:    April 1887–January 1889 *

Emmet Seawell:    January 1923–July 1939

Oscar L. Shafter:    January 1864–December 1867

John R. Sharpstein:    January 1880–December 1892

Lucien Shaw:    January 1903–January 1923 *

John W. Shenk:    April 1924–August 1959

Charles A. Shurtleff:    July 1921–December 1922

William A. Sloane:    May 1920–December 1922

M. C. Sloss:    February 1906–February 1919

Homer R. Spence:  January 1945–June 1960

Royal T. Sprague:    January 1868–February 1872 *

Jeremiah F. Sullivan:    November 1926–January 1927

Matt I. Sullivan:    August 1914–January 1915 *

Raymond L. Sullivan:    December 1966–January 1977


Jackson Temple:    Jan 1870–Jan 1872 / Dec 1886–Jun 1889 / Jan 1895–Dec 1902

David S. Terry:    November 1855–September 1859 *

Ira F. Thompson:    December 1932–August 1937

James D. Thornton:    January 1880–January 1891

Mathew O. Tobriner:    July 1962–January 1982

Roger J. Traynor:    August 1940–February 1970 *


Walter Van Dyke:    January 1899–December 1905

W. C. Van Fleet:    April 1894–January 1899


William T. Wallace:    December 1869–November 1879 *

Terry W. Ward:  December 1922–January 1923

William H. Waste:    November 1921–June 1940 *

Alexander Wells:    January 1853–October 1854

Kathryn M. Werdegar:    June 1994–August 2017

Thomas P. White:    August 1959–October 1962

Curtis D. Wilbur:    January 1918–March 1924 *

John D. Works:    October 1888–January 1891

Donald R. Wright:    April 1970–February 1977 *


* Also served as Chief Justice of California. See Chief Justices of California listing for length of service as Chief Justice.

The Society wishes to thank Pepperdine University School of Law for assistance in scanning the “In Memoriams” that are included in the California Supreme Court Justices section and elsewhere on this website.