Courts of Appeal

The Courts of Appeal are the State’s intermediate appellate courts hearing most appeals from the Superior Courts except for Capital criminal cases and appeals from limited jurisdiction cases of the Superior Court. The State is divided into six appellate districts. Appeals are heard by three judge panels.

Courts of Appeal
The homepage for the Courts of Appeal provides information on the operation of the six appellate districts including case information, calendars, and practices and procedures.

About the Courts of Appeal
This link provides information about the membership of the Court, qualifications of the justices, and the original jurisdiction, authority and history of the Court.

A Visitors Guide to the California Courts of Appeal
This two-page publication provides a brief overview of the California Courts of Appeal including how the appeal process works.

100th Year Anniversary
This link provides information about the Centennial Celebration including a 72-page booklet on the history of the Courts of Appeal (Striving for Justice: Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow).

California Appellate Court Legacy Project
This oral history archive comprises more than 80 videotaped interviews of retired justices of the Courts of Appeal, as well as active justices who may be nearing retirement.